Displaying All Review Posts

Evolve

Edan | March 4, 2015 7:25 pm

Edan

Fighting on either side of Turtle Rock’s 4 vs. 1 multiplayer madness is both unique and extremely satisfying. Evolve pits a lone behemoth against a motley crew of 4 hunters, each with their own special abilities to help take down the powerful beast they are hunting. With a handful of game modes and maps, all of Evolve battles require finesse, tactics and smart thinking in order to gain the upper hand on your opponent. Despite the laborious climb to unlock all the game has to offer, Turtle Rock has delivered an addictive multiplayer experience.

Read more…

Tags: , ,

No Comments on Evolve


 

Assassin’s Creed Unity

Edan | January 9, 2015 9:05 pm

Edan

A lot of changes have been made in Assassin’s Creed Unity to make way for some new and interesting additions. The new free flowing co-op missions replace the PvP multiplayer from previous titles, the crafting system disappears for a more extensive character customization and they finally return to the roots from the earlier games with a more city centric world to explore, replacing the vast oceans and wilderness of the last couple of titles. Unity delivers a story boasting a classic revenge tale, a titillating love story and an intriguing murder mystery which is interesting at times yet fairly flat at others.

Read more…

Tags: , , ,

No Comments on Assassin’s Creed Unity


 

Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel!

Edan | January 9, 2015 5:48 pm

Edan

Borderlands The Pre-Sequel delivers us a lot of the same Borderlands we have grown to love during the first two iterations with just a bit of low-gravity and Australia chucked in for good measure. After the 20 hours that I have spent going through this game I have blown away more enemies than I can fathom, taken on some challenging bosses and collected so much loot that my square button needs replacing. Despite the often bland scenery and the game not running so well on the PS3, 2K Australia have taken this already established brand and introduced an interesting new low-gravity mechanic that keeps the gameplay fresh while still including the deep customization, immense amount of weapons and the smart and funny dialogue that we all know.

Read more…

Tags: No tags for this post

No Comments on Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel!


 

Metro: Redux

Edan | October 4, 2014 3:02 pm

Edan

In the dark corners of the Moscow underground the remnants of mankind remain, cowering away from the horrors that dwell on the surface. A place that we once conquered, now transformed into a desolate shell of a city after a distant nuclear war. What’s left of the city is littered with mutant beasts that would tear you apart if you ever gave them the chance, as well as the mysterious dark ones a race of mutants that seems a lot more like us than we would like. This is the setting for the two games that make up Metro Redux, 2010s Metro 2033 and 2013s Metro: Last Light. Metro Redux brings both of these games to the new generation of consoles, PlayStation 4 and Xbox One as well as PC with updated visuals and enhanced gameplay. Both of these titles came from Ukrainian based 4A Games and if you didn’t get to experience them back when they were released or you were looking for an excuse to dive back to into the horrifying Metro, Metro Redux is definitely worth a look.

Read more…

Tags: No tags for this post

No Comments on Metro: Redux


 

Review – InFAMOUS: First Light

Edan | September 19, 2014 4:36 pm

Edan

inFAMOUS: First Light is the standalone DLC for Sucker Punch’s inFAMOUS: Second Son. It focuses around the character Fetch and her story leading up to the beginning of Second Son. In my opinion, Fetch is one of the best characters and most interesting part of the main story in Second Son, so I was excited to spend an extra 6 hours with her.

Read more…

Tags: No tags for this post

No Comments on Review – InFAMOUS: First Light


 

Review – Dynasty Warriors 8: Xtreme Legends

Edan | June 3, 2014 5:26 pm

Edan

I first stumbled upon the Dynasty Warriors series way back in the early 2000s with Dynasty Warriors 2, a chaotic hack-n-slash title, which told the epic tale about a battle between three Chinese Kingdoms during the Han Dynasty period based on the fourteenth Century novel Romance of the Three Kingdoms. Sadly not much has changed since I first played it. Yes, there are a few extra modes thrown in, a myriad of new characters and weapons to experiment with and an obvious graphical upgrade but despite all that it still feels very similar to the games humble beginnings. That is not entirely a bad thing as I remember really enjoying these games back when I was younger and I still enjoy them to this day. Sticking with a formula that works is something that we see a lot in the video game industry.

Read more…

Tags: , ,

No Comments on Review – Dynasty Warriors 8: Xtreme Legends


 

Review – Dark Souls II

Edan | April 4, 2014 3:41 pm

Edan

Five minutes after I made my character and was released into the open world of Dark Souls II I was slain by an overpowered giant ogre. A trophy popped in the top corner of the screen called ‘This is Dark Souls’. It was a friendly reminder that over the next 50-plus hours, Death and I would become fairly close friends as I would meet my demise over and over again.

Read more…

Tags: , , ,

No Comments on Review – Dark Souls II


 

Review – South Park: The Stick Of Truth

Edan | March 25, 2014 5:13 pm

Edan

South Park is definitely not for everyone. In the 17 years it has been on the air it has probably offended more people than any other TV show. Its crude humour ranges from Tom Cruise being locked in a closet and not wanting to come out to Kanye West being a gay fish and everything in between. It is a show that doesn’t pull any punches and yet still has such a following that after 17 seasons, it’s still going strong. After 4 long years in development Obsidian have delivered an excellent game that pays homage to the source material while delivering something fresh that could be considered an entire season of the show wrapped into a nice 14-hour RPG.

Read more…

Tags: , , ,

No Comments on Review – South Park: The Stick Of Truth


 

Review – Castlevania: Lords of Shadow 2

Matt | March 6, 2014 6:01 pm

Matt

Throughout the 28-year history of the Castlevania franchise the player has always been tasked with defeating Dracula. Now with the latest game in the series, developer MercurySteam has decided that it’s time for a change. They have returned to complete their Lords of Shadow series with the first ever Castlevania game to have you play as the Prince of Darkness himself, and not only that, it’s also the first to be set in modern times.

Read more…

Tags: , ,

No Comments on Review – Castlevania: Lords of Shadow 2


 

Review – Tomb Raider: Definitive Edition

Matt | January 31, 2014 1:25 pm

Matt

In the last couple of years of the PS3 and Xbox 360, for better or worse, HD remakes were storming the gaming marketplace. It wasn’t the biggest leap of the imagination to think that the same trend would continue on in the new generation of systems, and lo and behold it has. In the current dry spell of game releases for the PS4 and Xbox One veteran publishers Square Enix have given us Tomb Raider: Definitive Edition.

Read more…

Tags: , , , , ,

No Comments on Review – Tomb Raider: Definitive Edition